Temple Details

Triyuginarayan Temple   Rudraprayag

About Triyuginarayan Temple

Triyugi Narayan temple / village is situated near Gauri Kund about 15 km by motorable road at a height of 1980 meters ( 6500 ft.). Architect of this temple resembles the Sri Kedarnath temple, built by Adi Shankarachrya, dedicated to Lord Vishnu, having a silver image two foot tall accompanied by Ma Lakshmi and Ma Saraswati. This temple is witness to the celestial marriage of Lord Shiva and Ma Parvati. Lord Vishnu completed all the formalities of as a brother and Lord Brhama creator of world as a priest in the presence of “Rishis” sages of that time , the place is marked by a stone called Brhama Shila .

Pilgrims offer “Samidha” the pure fire wood at a square “Hawan kund ” Fire place to the eternal flame which is supposed to be burning since the marriage of Lord Shiva and Ma Parvati. It is also known as “Akhand Dhooni”

Before the marriage ceremony the Gods took bath at three different “Kunds” small ponds, the Rudra kund, the Vishnu kund and the Brahma kund, these three ponds are recharged by inflow of Saraswati Kund , legend is it originated from Lord Vishnu’s navel 

Lord Brhama had a bath at Brhama Kund before the marriage of Lord Shiva and Ma Parvati 

Triyugi Narayan is suppose to be the capital of King Himavat ( Himalaya) during the Satya Yug. After the death of Ma Sati, Lord Shiva’s first wife, Ma Parvati was the rebirth of Ma Sati, at first she tried to win the Lord with her beauty but could not succeed she did penance “meditate” at Gauri kund and finally Lord proposed to her at Gupt Kashi and then the marriage was solemnized at Triyugi Narayan at her father’s place


By Road

The temple is located about 12 kilometres from Sonprayag on the motorable road till the temple. There exist a few trek routes too, like a short trek of 5 kilometres via Sonprayag on the Ghuttur –Kedarnath bridle path that passes through thick forest area is involved in reaching the temple precincts. From Kedarnath, which is to the south of this temple the total trekking distance is about 25 kilometres. Ghuttur is around 12 kilometres from Sonprayag, which is connected by road with Haridwar and other important hill stations of the Garhwal and Kumaon Hills.

The Triguninarayan temple is also accessed by trekking. A popular trekking or excursion route followed is from Mussoorie. The trek route followed from Mussorie, which involves 17 days of trekking, passes through Tehri, Mala (road point), Belak, Budakedar-Ghuttu-Panwali Kanta, Triyuginarayan and Kedarnath in that order. Apart from this trekking route, the Department of Tourism, Government of Uttarakhand, in order to encourage tourism has identified and developed six major circuits, which includes the Rudraprayag–Kedarnath circuit, covering temples at Rudraprayag, Tungnath, Okhimath, Madhyamaheshwar, Guptkashi, Triyuginarayan and Kedarnath, along the Mandakini River valley. This circuit involves a total trekking of 69 kilometres, in adddtion to the road journey.

By Rail

The nearest railhead is the Rishikesh Railway Station at a distance of 261 km from the temple.

By Air

The nearest airport is the Dehradun Airport at a distance of 244 km from the temple.



As an evidence of this Lord Shiva’s Marriage  with Parvati was conducted specially for Lord Vishnu. The Marriage Ceremonial fire still burns. The marriage is between Shiva and Parvati, the Homa kunda is for their marriage.  Yet the Temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu!

Morning Puja 4 AM to 7 AM

1. Maha Abhishek
2. Rudra Abhishek Puja
3. Laghu Rudra Abhishek Puja
4. Sodasopachar

Evening Archana & Path 6 PM to 7:30 PM

1. Shiv Sahasranamam Paath
2. Shiv Mahimastrotra Paath
3. Shiv Thandavastrotra Paath
4. Sampurna Aarti

Daily Bhog & other services

1. Uttam Bhog Puja
2. Dainik Yagna Havan
3. Akhand jyothi daily
4. Shri Kedarnathji & subordinate Temples Nitya Niyam Bhog

Long Term (for 10 years) Puja and Bhog

1. Shri Bhagwan Mahabhog
2. Shri Bhagwan Maha Abhishek Puja
3. Shri Bhagwan Abhishek Puja
4. Shiv Sahasranam Stotra

Puja on Special Occasions

1. Shrawani Purnima Annakut
2. Akhand Jyoti Yearly