Temple Details

Chaturmukha Basadi    Karkala

About Chaturmukha Basadi

  Karkala located at a distance of 362 Km from Bangalore is one of the important pilgrim centers especially for Jains

  Chaturmukha Basadi was built in 1432 during the reign of Jain king, Vir Pandyadeva. The Basadi was named as Chaturmukha Basadi because of four identical doorways which points four directions and all doorways lead to the Garbhagriha.

One of the most worshipped Jain temples in Karnataka, Chaturmukha Basadi is an ancient temple depicting beautiful architecture. Established nearly about 1432 AD by Vir Pandya Deva, the complex sits deftly on a rocky hill of the town.

  Adorned with 108 pillars supporting a big slab of granite forming the flat roof of the temple, the complex gets its name from its four entrances located in each of the four directions all leading to the garbhagriha. Do visit the place to explore its splendid history and design.

  This Basadi is one of the most popular and attracted Basadis of Karkala. Nice place to offer prayer and to perform peaceful meditation. This monument is protected by Archaeological Survey of India.

   The Chaturmukha Basadi, was built in the late 16th century  by Immadi Bhairarasa Vodeya of the Santara dynasty in 1586.

Nearest Airport: Mangalore International Airport

Nearest Railway Station: Udupi

Road: Karkala well connected by road network. Private Buses ply from Mangalore and Udupi very frequently to Karkala. The Chaturmukha Basadi is within walking distance from the town center.

Distance from Karkala:

Bangalore: 362 Km
Mysore: 275 Km
Mangalore: 52 Km
Shimoga: 144 Km
Chikmagalur: 139 Km (via Mudigere, Charmadi and Belthangadi)
Varanga: 26 Km
Udupi: 38 Km
Kundpura: 74 Km
Hebri: 35 Km
Agumbe: 51 Km
Sringeri: 58 Km
Horanadu: 77 Km
Dharmasthala: 64 Km

Karkala offers suitable staying options such as Hotels, Guest Rooms and Budget Accommodations.

  • Kodachadri - Designed For The Hardy
  • Yellapur – Of Forests And Falls
  • Dubare - A Tryst with Elephants
  • Kumta - A Thriving Little Coastal Town
  • Hassan - The City Of Hoysala Heritage
  • Agumbe - The King Cobra Capital